The Murray Rotary Club hosted the 2017 Murray High School Outstanding Alumnus Award Luncheon on June 5, 2017 at the Cottonwood Country Club. Jim Christian, Class of 1972 was honored as the 2017 recipient of this prestigious awards.  Superintendent (and Rotary member) Steve Hirase presented the award and introduced Mr. Christian, who then shared remarks with the group.

Jim Christian is a professor emeritus from Weber State University with over 37 years of professional experience as a director, teacher, actor, writer, and producer in the areas of theatre, television and film.  He has worked as a director and choreographer for the Tony Award-winning Utah Shakespearean Festival, Pioneer Theatre Company, Centerpoint Legacy Theatre, Utah Opera Company, Utah Symphony, Old Lyric Repertory Company, Hale Centre Theatre, Utah Musical Theatre, Park City Egyptian Theatre, Rodgers Memorial Theatre, the Grand Theatre, Utah State University, as well as theatres in California, Arizona, Montana, Florida, Wyoming, and Illinois. In 1996 he was awarded the “Crystal Crest Master Teacher of the Year” for Weber State University. He was the recipient of Utah’s “Best in State” award in 2006 for “Outstanding University Professor.” He was also named “Presidential Distinguished Professor” at Weber State in 2009 at which time he was awarded an Honorary Doctor of Humanities. Jim is a member of the Society of Stage Directors  and  Choreographers  and The Dramatists Guild.

Jim was born and raised in Murray by his parents, Dennis and Clara Christian.  He started taking piano lessons at the age of 6 and was active in music from junior high on. At Murray High, Jim was a member of the marching, stage, pep, and concert bands playing percussion, piano, saxophone and oboe respectively. He was also the president of the Chess Club, and the National Honor Society, Madrigals, and Thespian Club his senior year. He graduated in the Top Ten in his class and credits his love of teaching to Kathleen Smart, his geometry teacher. Congratulations, Jim Christian, for your award, and for representing Murray High School so well during your illustrious career!