Teacher of the Year and the Classified Employee of the Year are:

Teacher of the Year: KATHY BEESLEY (pictured right)
Viewmont 3rd grade Teacher; with MCSD since 8/19/13

Classified Employee of the Year: CRIS WESTERFIELD (pictured left)
ESL District Lead & ESL Para-educator at Parkside; with MCSD since 9/12/08

These individuals were recognized at the May Board of Education Meeting where they were commended for their outstanding contributions to the District. Murray City School District also extends sincere appreciation to the exceptional fellow employees who were nominated for these honors.

Teacher of the Year Nominees:

  • Jessie Agiriga, MHS Special Education
  • Victoria Bean, HJH Dance/Health
  • Kathy Beesley, Viewmont 3rd grade
  • Julianne Curtis, McMillan 5th grade
  • Keri Hohnholt, Parkside Admin. Intern
  • Tami Lundberg, Grant 6th grade
  • Jennifer Mackay, RJH science
  • Alysia McIntosh, Liberty kindergarten
  • Phebe Tanner, Longview 6th grade
  • Kristie Short, Horizon 1st grade

Classified Employee Nominees:

  • Lisa Adair; DO Spec. Ed Admin. Assistant
  • John Best, Liberty custodian
  • Jaymie Cushing, Horizon ESL Para
  • Sharon Gillen, Longview Secretary
  • Sue Groves, McMillan Kitchen Lead
  • Aleen Holt, Viewmont Reading Para
  • Jo Imlay, HJH Finance Clerk
  • James Labato, RJH custodian
  • Brady Nielsen, DO Tech Specialist
  • Lindsay Preece, Grant Teaching Assistant
  • Cris Westerfield, Parkside ELL Coordinator

Nominees were honored at luncheons hosted by Brio Tuscan Grill in Murray with Superintendent Covington, representative administrators and Board of Education members. In addition, all nominees receive an engraved plaque, with the Teacher of the Year and Employee of the Year also receiving a check from the District.