MCSD RecognitionMurray City School District (MCSD) appreciates the hard work of all employees. Over the years, the District has recognized one licensed classroom teacher and one education support professional from each school. This year we are adding one licensed educator from each school. This includes counselors, social workers, school psychologists, instructional coaches, SLPs, and librarians who were not eligible for previous award programs.

This year’s winners and nominees are:

sara Paul
Sarah Paul

Teacher of the Year: Sarah Paul, Horizon 3rd Grade English DLI Teacher

Nominees: Kim Tavares, Grant; Jennifer Allred, Hillcrest; Daphne Davis, Liberty; Annie Dow, Longview; Jodi Jessop, McMillan; April Warby, MHS; Teresa Porter, Parkside; Jen Duehlmeier, Riverview; Kristen Snow, Viewmont.

Jill Hansen
Jill Hansen

Licensed Employee of the Year: Jill Hansen, Riverview Jr. High Librarian

Nominees: Lawren Martin, Grant; Courtney Nolan, Hillcrest; Karen Peterson, Horizon; Sarah Wilson, Liberty; Cole Robinson, McMillan; Carolyn Martinez-Ross, MHS

Mary-Ann Anderson
Mary-Ann Anderson

Education Support Professional of the Year: Mary-Ann Anderson, Viewmont Secretary

Nominees: Marsha Wilson, McMillan; Ada Glines, Longview; Joyce Lopez, Grant; Karina Rodriguez-Perez, Riverview; Mary-Ann Anderson, Viewmont; Jennifer Horne, MHS; Sydney Baird, Hillcrest; Meme Jensen, Parkside; Shay Lavallee, Liberty; Jessica Rackham, Horizon; Kristen Millet, ECEC; Shela Barker, District Office

MCSD recognition programs honor employees who have demonstrated exceptional dedication, leadership, and service to the district and its students. Nominations are accepted among district employees, and committees of peers select the overall winners. The Teacher of the Year selection will go on for consideration for the state’s Teacher of the Year award.

This program is in addition to the Murray Education Foundation’s (MEF) Pinnacle Awards, which accepts nominations across the entire Murray Community and recognizes seven or eight individuals each year. It’s also in addition to the Murray PTA and a myriad of other state and national organizations that recognize teachers and employees from MCSD schools each year.

The MCSD program, along with other recognition given through MEF, the PTA, and other organizations, are important ways for professional educators and support professionals to be recognized among their peers. All employees in Murray are valued and appreciated for their hard work, team-oriented collaboration, and dedication to the Board of Education’s mission of optimizing “every student, every opportunity, every day.” 

Congratulations to each winner, we appreciate you, and are proud of your we-are-murray spirit!